Watch astronomers unveil a ‘pioneering discovery’ of the Milky Way

This morning, scientists collaborated with Event Horizon Telescope Initiative It is set to unveil a “pioneering discovery” about our Milky Way galaxy. The team has provided few details about what they are announcing, but the mysterious news will be broadcast live at 9 AM ET.

You might remember the Event Horizon Telescope team from 2019, when the group was Revealed the first image ever taken of the shadow of a black hole. At the time, the team displayed an image of a supermassive black hole located in the center of a galaxy called Messier 87, or M87. It was a massive project that entailed observing the black hole for a week in April of 2017, using eight radio telescopes stationed in Chile, Hawaii, Antarctica and elsewhere, and then putting that data together using supercomputers.

It seems possible that the group will reveal another stunning image of a black hole, but this time, it will display one in our galaxy. During the April 2017 observation, the EHT team also observed the supermassive black hole in the center of the Milky Way, called Sagittarius A*, or Sgr A*. However, scientists acknowledged that there was more difficulty putting that image together due to the black hole’s size and the interference between Earth and the object. The team may have overcome these processing issues after five years.

It’s also possible for the EHT team to reveal something completely different. Little information has been provided previously, other than the results representing a kind of “hack”. We’ll all find out soon.

See also  How NASA's Perseverance Reached the Geological Jackpot

What time does the EHT live stream start?

The EHT live stream will begin at 9 AM ET.

Timetable: New York: 9 a.m. / San Francisco: 6 a.m. / London: 2 p.m. / Berlin: 3 p.m. / Moscow: 4 p.m. / New Delhi: 6:30 p.m. / Beijing: 9 p.m. / Tokyo: 10 p.m. / Melbourne: 11 p.m.

Where can I see the ad?

The ad will be broadcast live on website From the National Science Foundation, which helps fund research facilities used by the EHT. The ad will also be broadcast live Youtube And Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.